Ethical Shopping: An Uphill Battle

They say ignorance is bliss, but I’m starting to think they’re wrong. Let me tell you, this journey has been challenging me in SO many ways. Researching for these posts has shed light on things I didn’t want to know, but now that I DO know, I’m so thankful.

IMG_2124These past few weeks have turned my view of our market completely on its edge. Companies I used for YEARS and thought I could be loyal to were suddenly not acceptable and it’s been a rough journey. I’ve had to buy (or budget to buy in the future) new shampoo, conditioner, hair products, body wash, lotion, nail polish, clothing, makeup, skincare products, food, feminine care products, perfume, candles, and so on. Let’s be real. Who wants to test on cute little animals like my little friend to the left? I obviously can’t afford to replace all of that at once, so I’m slowly replacing things as I get the money to do so…and it’s exhausting. I’m a pretty loyal customer, so I have a hard time switching between brands. This change has challenged me in SO many ways and I’m learning that this type of change is going to be REALLY good for me.

IMG_1949.jpgThis change is leading me to the lifestyle I want, I crave. A life of minimalism, supporting other human beings and the animals we share this Earth with, ending human trafficking, and a life free of consumerism. I’m learning that my purchases are meant to make a difference in the world, and that I shouldn’t be spending on companies that don’t deserve my hard-earned money just to keep up with the Jones.

So I will continue purging my closets, slowly replacing all my old products with new cruelty-free-slavery-free, sustainably sourced products that make me feel good inside and out. This seemingly crazy dream of mine will be an uphill battle but believe me, the view from the top is everything.

Follow my blog/Insta/Twitter/Bloglovin’ to learn what brands to support & how powerful your purchase really can be!

See you next time!

Cami

 

2 thoughts on “Ethical Shopping: An Uphill Battle

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑