How I Eat Keto in a College Dorm

Welcome back, readers!

This week I’m going to give an introduction to my diet and a how-to on one of my new favorite snacks.

I am one of the many people in our culture today who are intolerant to gluten. This means that eating gluten (found in wheat, barley, and rye) irritates my stomach and can cause a whole range of uncomfortable symptoms depending on how much gluten I eat. I have been following a gluten-free diet since March 2016 and this past summer I joined my parents on a diet called the Ketogenic Diet after reading Keto Clarity by Jimmy Moore (see his blog here: Livin’ La Vida Low Carb).

The basis of the Ketogenic diet, or Keto as I will often refer to it, is basically a low-carb, high-fat diet. This forces your body to run off of ketones instead of glucose. If you want to know more in depth about this process, visit Moore’s blog or read his book, for it’s a little too complicated for me to explain in a simple blog post.

I have been following the Keto diet for eight months now and I feel so much better now than before when I was eating tons of carbs. It was a hard transition for me, as I am a lover of all things carbohydrates. I used to eat bread, pasta, mac n cheese, rice, etc. on a daily basis which I believe was a factor in the eventual diagnosis of my gluten intolerance.

Now, most people are critical of the Keto diet and this diet may not be for everyone, but this diet is what works well for me. Therefore, I will continue to follow and share my adventures with those willing to follow me, as well as my dorm room hacks to sticking to the keto diet.

Earlier on, I promised to share one of my new favorite snacks, and here it is. They’re called Cheesy Pesto Fat Bombs.

img_20170218_141421

I found the recipe on Pinterest, where I find most of my recipes. Here’s the link to the recipe for those who are interested in trying it out: KetoDiet Blog. The dip is super simple to make. It’s simply cream cheese, Parmesan cheese, and pesto. The recipe also calls for olives but I didn’t have an olives in my fridge when I made this, so mine lacks olives.

img_20170218_140944

Then you mix it all together, cut up a favorite veggie (in my case cucumbers), and eat!

img_20170218_143650

I hope you enjoyed my post this week! Stick around for future recipes and adventures. I’ll see you soon for another moment with Cami.

Sincerely,

Camille

Leave a Reply

