A Month of Dresses #itsbiggerthanadress

Hello Readers! For my first post I thought I would share one of my passions with the world, the end of human trafficking.

Human trafficking is the use of force, fraud, or coercion to obtain some type of labor or commercial sex act, aka modern-day slavery. (Source: Blue Campaign) Approximately 800,000 children are reported missing each year and the average age of an individual taken by trafficking is 12-14 years old. I was floored when I encountered these statistics just about a year ago. It’s also amazing to me how many people I’ve talked to who have no idea that human trafficking exists! I want to help these young boys and girls find a way out of a nasty situation and see the end of modern-day slavery in my lifetime.

So I have participated in a movement called Dressember for two years now. The concept is simple. Women wear a dress everyday for the month of Decemeber, and men can dress up as well. The point is to raise awareness for those stuck in the trade in a creative way to make starting the hard conversation about modern-day slavery much easier.

20161217_172544

Living in Wisconsin, this is definitely not an easy feat. December tends to be cold and snowy, so fleece-lined leggings and tights become a girls best friend, along with the thought that even though I may be cold, there are girls somewhere who are suffering way worse and I simply want to be their voice.

img_20161210_161001

This year I had a team with one of my best friends and we were SO close to making our fundraising goal. Next year I am hoping to expand my team both member-wise and financially. I can’t wait to see what happens and I hope some of you, my readers, would consider being a voice for the voiceless!

20161207_190936

Thank you for following along so far, I hope you stick around for some of my other adventures. If you have questions, comments, or ideas for future writing topics, leave a comment below!

‘Til then,

Cami

1 thought on “A Month of Dresses #itsbiggerthanadress”

Leave a Reply

